Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Butterfly Cabinet

The Butterfly Cabinet

An unforgettable story of two women linked by their roles in a tragedy at the end of the Victorian era, THE BUTTERFLY CABINET by Bernie McGill will appeal to fans of THE VANISHING ACT OF ESME LENNOX or THE SUSPICIONS OF MR WHICHER, and was singled out by Julian Fellowes as his Book of the Year in the Guardian.

On a remote estate in the north of Ireland, a little girl dies, and the community is quick to condemn her mother, Harriet Ormond. Now, after seventy years, Maddie McGlade, a former nanny at the house, knows the time has come to reveal her own role in the events of that day.

From Maddie’s reminiscences and Harriet’s long-concealed diaries emerges an unforgettable story of motherhood and betrayal, and of two women, mistress and servant, inextricably connected by an extraordinary secret.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 20th February 2011

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755372102

Reviews

'Beautifully done and thoroughly absorbing'
<I> Daily Mail </I>
'An absorbing story of marriage, motherhood and murder'
<I> Woman & Home </I>
'... intricately layered... McGill's assured debut is an intense exploration of maternal love and guilt. What also distinguishes it is its delicate portrait of a society that, within one lifetime, would face unimaginable change.'
<I> Financial Times </I>
'An utterly compelling tale of hidden secrets and culture clashes played out against the backdrop of a large country house in Northern Ireland... it's a haunted tale, eerie with recrimination, illicit passion and frustrated motherhood. Pitch-perfect in tone, McGill captures, in counterpoint, the voices of two women as they declaim a melancholy murder ballad.'
<I> Marie Claire </I>
'McGill has the ability to enter the brain and heart of her characters and so to make us sympathise with people who commit acts we abhor'
Julian Fellowes, creator of Downton Abbey